FAI Young Artists Contest 2014

     Category:  Multiple Disciplines
     Deadline:  April 1, 2014  (expired!)
     Contest's Website:  [link]

    The FAI invites all youngsters from the age of 6 to 17 to take part in the FAI Young Artists Contest, a painting competition that gives an opportunity to young artists to express themselves artistically according to a given theme.

    The 2014 theme is "Flying to save lives".

    To enter the contest, young people must first contact the FAI Member in their country and check with them the deadline to submit their drawing. They must then send their artworks to their FAI Member. The participating FAI Members will each make a selection of the three best artworks in each category and send the chosen artworks to the FAI by 1 April 2014.

    Entries will be judged in 3 classes:

    Group I - Junior Category (Date of birth between 1 January 2004 and 31 December 2007)

    Group II - Intermediate Category (Date of birth between 1 January 2000 and 31 December 2003)

    Group III - Senior Category (Date of birth between 1 January 1996 and 31 December 1999)

    All artwork must be done by hand (or, in the case of handicapped children, by foot or mouth). Any of the following media are permitted: Watercolor, Acrylic, Oil paint, Indelible marker pens, Felt-tip pens, Soft ball-point pens, Indelible ink, Crayola, or any similar indelible medium.

    No pencil, charcoal or other non-permanent medium may be used. No computer-generated artwork and no collage work involving the use of photocopies is permitted.

    The required format is A3 (297 x 420 mm or 11 3/4 X 16 ½ inches) or, if this is unobtainable in your country, the nearest possible equivalent. Artwork must not be framed or outlined with borders.

    There is no entry fee.


    All children in the 3 age groups are encouraged to participate in the Contest, even if they are related to officials or employees of the FAI or any of its member organisations. Participation in the National contests is limited to residents of that country.


    Gold, Silver and Bronze FAI Medals will be awarded to the winners for the 3 age categories (6-9, 10-13, 14-17 years old) following a Jury decision in April 2014.