Amnesty International Media Awards 2014

     Category:  Multiple Disciplines
     Deadline:  August 1, 2014  (expired!)
     Contest's Website:  [link]

    Journalists have always played a vital part in uncovering abuses and corruption around the world. That is why Amnesty International honours and recognises the courageous work they do, and the serious risks they take with its Media Awards.

    There are nine categories:

    National Newspapers
    Television News
    Digital Innovation
    Magazines (supplements and consumer)
    Nations and Regions
    Gaby Rado Award

    The Gaby Rado Award is for journalists who have covered human rights stories for less than five years. This award was established with the help of the family, friends and colleagues of the journalist Gaby Rado, who died in Iraq in 2003.

    Established in 1992, over the past two decades the Amnesty International Media Awards have grown in prestige, recognizing excellence in human rights reporting and acknowledging journalism’s significant contribution to raising public awareness of human rights issues.

    There is a reduced entry fee for entries received before midnight on 8 July.


    Entries must have been published or broadcast for the first time in the UK between 1 March 2013 and 31 July 2014.


    The winners of the Media Awards will be announced at a ceremony at London’s BFI on November 11, 2014. Winners will be announced in all official categories.